Ahoy! Sage 300 CRE ‘TSMain’ Overboard!

Sink, swim, or miss the boat!

Submitted by Kyle Zeigler, Sage Senior Certified Consultant
lifering

Embracing change can be a little like trying to turn the Titanic – slow and awkward, but necessary to avoid obstacles toward continued smooth sailing. Accepting the changes that have been introduced in your Sage 300 Construction and Real Estate software, and those spied on the horizon, may be a little like that too. If you haven’t gotten the word yet, hang on to your life preservers! Sage intends to invest significantly over the next several years in the development of Sage 300 CRE, bringing it into the modern era. And the changes have already begun!

Desktop gets ‘swabbed’

For those of you who upgraded to version 15.1, you’re seeing the first splash of the new “look” in the JC Job setup window. If you’ve gone full steam ahead into version 16.1, you’ll revel in the clean lines and roomier deck of Sage Desktop. However, if you are one of those users who have sworn to go down with TS-Main clutched in your cold, dead hands, you may want to rethink your strategy. If the rumors are true, TS-Main will eventually be scuttled, and Desktop will be the only method available for navigating the depths of your Sage 300 CRE software.

Choosing to abandon the sinking TS-Main now and learning how to steer your course in Desktop may help keep you from feeling like you’ve fallen overboard later on. If you’re already a seasoned hand at Desktop, and have taken the time and effort to create a personalized My Tasks list, we congratulate you! Now it’s time to learn how to protect you investment from the frigid waters of future upgrades.

Avoiding shark-infested waters

Your customized Desktop configuration is saved in the Default.dsk file on your workstation when you select File > Save Configuration. Also, it is the set of preferences stored in the Default.dsk file that are loaded when you launch the software. However, when a new version upgrade is installed, the Default.dsk file on your workstation is overwritten and your personalized Desktop configuration is lost. To protect your custom Desktop, we recommend you select File > Save Configuration As and save the file as any name other than Default (for instance, MyDesktop.dsk). As you make changes to your custom Desktop, save the changes to both the Default and custom-named files. Then, when a future upgrade is installed, use the custom-named file to import your personal preferences, and then save that configuration into the new Default.dsk file so that your personalized Desktop is opened every time you launch Sage 300 CRE.

By the way, if you haven’t yet seen version 16.1, My Tasks become Favorites, and the sometimes confusing and overwhelming array of Desktop folders and subfolders are gone. The waters may still be slightly choppy with the interface between version 16.1 and some third-party products, so proceed with caution before upgrading to this version. And as always, don’t hesitate to contact Ledgerwood Associates whenever you need a lifeline.